Amagasaki City - 尼崎市

3-8 House

Japanese Name: 3・8 ハウスPrefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 尼崎市昭和南通7丁目180番地Access: 10 min walk from Hanshin AmagasakiType: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: NoneHours: 14:00-08:00
ReviewThis is one of the all night sentos open on the outskirts of Amagasaki's red light district. It's an interesting place and there's always a few characters there. It's pretty dirty and not well taken care of however. This is by no means a beginner sento and I can't really recommend it to anyone, but crazies like me. The spring is of moderate quality and the selection of baths is not too bad. It's a good place to know if you've missed the last train, or coming home on the first. This onsen closes at 9 in the morning and opens in the afternoon.

Dai-ichi Shikijima-yu

Japanese Name: 第一敷島湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市杭瀬本町1丁目25−5Closest Station: Kuise Station / 杭瀬駅Category: SentoWebpage: https://shikishimayu.jimdo.com/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: TuesdayHours: 14:40-23:00Review:Locally famous for being a retro sento. They have hosted all the local famous sento enthusiasts including DokdemoSento. Small but very comfortable. There's a few toys for children to play with in the bath. Good location that is just enough off the main road to make finding it fun. I think they also have an option to rent out the entire facility.

Ebisu-Yu

Japanese Name: 戎湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市築地2丁目2−20Access: 20min walk from Hanshin Amagasaki Type: Sento (with Hot Spring)Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: Second and Fourth MondaysHours: 10:00-24:00 (Weekends Holidays 7:00-24:00)
ReviewStraight from the well hot spring water fills the tubs here at this mildly out of the way almost-supersento. Ebisu-Yu is right on the border of being a real supersento but not big enough to qualify in my mind.A large well designed rotenburo made of rock and surrounded by a garden serves as the centerpiece. The spring water is fantastic. The two baths are different and change everyday.Sadly, I don't believe there's good bus service here from Hanshin Amagasaki so get ready for a longish walk to get there and back.
Second photo is a sign that says the following:"This bath isnot heatednot diluted not recycled100% hot spring fed into the bathsDon't worry about bathing here-The owner※The jet baths use plain municipal water"
Hot Spring DataWell Name: Ebisu no Yu - 戎の湯Type: Simple hot spring - 単純温泉pH: 7.9Type: Weak alkaline - 弱アリカリ性Well Temperature: 42.6Type: Extra hot spring - 高温泉Osmotic Pressure: Low - 低張性

Fontaine Osho

Japanese Name: フォンテーヌ大庄Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市大庄北5丁目5−15Closest Station: Amagasaki Center Pool Mae Station / 尼崎センタープール前 Category: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: 1st & 3rd MondayHours: 14:00-24:00Review:Deep Amagasaki sento in a large building. Clean, efficient, basic. Signs saying they only use municipal water and not well water so you can be assured the water is safe. Visit Date: May 2016

Fukujyu Onsen

Japanese Name: 福寿温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市東園田町5丁目60−3Type: SentoWebpage: https://e-sento.com/新福寿温泉Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: TuesdayHours: 13:30-24:00
ReviewA 5 minute walk from Hankyu Sonoda Station this is old, but well maintained public bath has a good local crowd. Fukujyu is quite small on the inside but not too worse for wear. Sadly it has some downfalls. The mist sauna had a strong musky, sweaty smell that turned me off. There was an outside area but it appeared unused and didn't have a bath but, instead, two showers. Maybe good in the summer heat, but useless in the winter. Also in order to get to some of the baths you have to step over people or wait for them to get out to get behind them. On the other hand, I enjoyed the old tile work, classic changing room, the local atmosphere and the bright open room the baths were in.

Fukuzumi Onsen

Japanese Name: ふくずみ温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市水堂町1丁目4−8Access: 5 min walk from JR TachibanaType: SentoWebpage: http://www.eonet.ne.jp/~fukuzumi/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: 2nd TuesdayHours: 6:00-10:00 / 13:00-25:00 (Weekends Holidays: 6:00-25:00)
ReviewA Yuasobihiroba sento. Fukuzumi has a great selection of baths set up almost like a playground. When they say Yuasobi they mean it. Yu means hot water and asobi (遊び) means play.The two different baths change daily. One side recently was remodeled and the salt sauna was replaced with a charcoal one. Using the expensive charcoal from southern Wakayama no less.The building that Fukuzumi is housed in is rather large, but the actual bathing area isn't too big. Even though it's rather hidden in the middle of a residential block, It's hard not to find this sento because of the giant radio antenna protruding from the top of the building and all of the neon pasted to the sides.Like all of the Yuasobihiroba group sentos you'll have a great time and get to experience wide selection of different baths in a fun and relaxing environment.

Gokuraku-Yu Amagasaki

Japanese Name: 極楽湯尼崎店Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市浜1−6−18Access: 10min walk from JR AmagasakiType: SupersentoWebpage: http://www.gokurakuyu.com/amagasaki/amagasaki.htmlPrice: ¥450Holiday: 3rd TuesdayHours: 6:00-25:00
ReviewGokuraku-yu in Amagasaki, if you look at the design, it’s a decent supersento. It’s big enough, it has a ton of different baths, it has two saunas. There’s no natural hot spring here, but it treats the water in different ways. You can re-enter the baths as many times as you want as long as you don’t leave the building. There’s a smoking balcony where you can watch the trains on the Sanyo Main Line come into the busy Amagasaki Station.Sadly, over the years I've been going here the quality has gotten slowly worse. The price has been lowered to ¥410, the same as public baths in Hyogo. At that price this supersento is a steal, but be forewarned that it might be as clean as you might want it to be.This place also has been a bit shady about if it had a hot spring or not. They advertised it originally and even had a fountain out front with a hot spring information plaque. I never could figure out what baths had the hot spring however. Then, they changed their sign and got rid of the line 天然温泉 (natural hot spring). Then, they lowered their price. The whole thing seemed shady. Gokuraku-yu is a supersento chain with many shops across Japan. Some really do have a natural hot spring. I am not a big fan of this supersento, but is a franchisee and the other Gokuraku-yu that I have been to have been much better.

Horai-yu (Center Pool area)

Japanese Name: 蓬莱湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市道意町2丁目21-2Type: Sento (with Hot Spring)Webpage: http://www.houraiyu.jp/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: FridayHours: 15:00-23:30 (Sunday 12:00-23:30)
Review:Recently remodeled, Horai-Yu is one of the most beautiful refreshing little sento I have been to. It's almost hidden in a little residential neighborhood near the Amagasaki kyotei (boat racing) pool. The bathing area is small but the high roof and clean, modern design gives the bath an open airy feel. The nicely furnished lobby and entrance is scented with aromatherapy oils. One of the most unique things about this onsen pet washing area outside on the side of the building for washing your dog with the hot spring water.
It's hard to think that 5 years ago, when I first started going to sento near my host-mother's house this was one of the first I tried. This was well before the remodel and the place was just a typical sento. I remember walking in and the grandfather who was staffing the front desk gave me a glance and preceded to freak out. I guess there weren't too many gaijin in the neighborhood and he didn't know what to do.
As I asked the price, he quickly picked up the phone and dialed. I stood there for a second confused with my wallet in hand. Soon enough what appeared to be his son came down the stairs from there house built above the sento. He looked at me, looked back at his elderly grandfather and said something to the effect of "Why did you call me down here for this." The son went back up stairs and the grandfather timidly told me the price. I paid and went in. I don't know if the current owners are the same as before the remodel, anyhow I didn't have any problem getting in this second time to enjoy this fabulous bath.
Horai-yu is recommended for anyone who has an interest in sento and wants to see what the future of the sento might look like. Besides that, it's just a downright wonderful place. Nice and fresh feeling. It's located in an interesting, to say the least, neighborhood and close to a train station.
2018 Update: Still as great as before. Added photos of the coin operated onsen pump for taking the spring water home for putting into your own bath and, even rarer is the coin operated natural hot spring pet baths.
Most recent visit: January 2020
Hot Spring DataType: Simple alkaline hot spring - アルカリ性単純温泉Type: Weak alkaline - 弱アリカリ性Well Temperature: 41.8Type: Hot spring - 温泉Osmotic Pressure: Low - 低張性

Inaba-yu

Japanese Name: 稲葉湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市稲葉荘4丁目3−26Closest Station: Tachibana Station / 立花駅Category: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: WednesdayHours: 16:00-23:00Review:Big airy sento on a busy road. Utilitarian. Visit Date: August 2016

Izumi Onsen

Japanese Name: 泉温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市武庫元町2−21−2Access: 25min walk or bus from Hankyu Mukonoso Type: SentoWebpage: http://esento.web.fc2.com/izumi/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: FridayHours: 15:30-23:00ReviewIzumi Onsen is all about being simple. No jet baths, no rotenburo, nothing special but a well designed--if not quite unique--basic bathhouse. Everything in Izumi Onsen from the mural of Mt. Fuji to the rare bottled sodas in the lobby expresses a sense of nostalgia, but a clean, well kept nostalgia. The baths are filled with heated and treated soft water (軟水) which comes from their own well. I love the super soft soapy feeling that soft water gives me skin.
What most amazed me at Izumi was the washing area which had a long tile bench built into the floor to sit on. These seem to be less common as most places prefer the plastic bath chairs. The cold water shower was also a highlight. A dense, powerful blast of Izumi's well water really can get you going. Great for the summer.
As for the building, the semi-detached outside toilet, somewhat common among sento design of the era, was interesting. So was the onsen's location inside a shopping arcade.

Kanda Onsen

Japanese Name: 神田温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市神田北通8丁目219Access: 10min from Hanshin DeyashikiType: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: NoneHours: 06:00-26:00
ReviewA neighborhood sento in a working class part of Amagasaki close to Route 2. Kanda Onsen's most notable feature is it's nicely designed tiered main bath. The whole lobby, dressing room and bathing area conforms to an S shape. The herbal rotenburo had copies from a book of poems written between parents and their children posted on the wall. This is a lovely place with a lot of stories to tell. The steam bath is strong and pairs nicely with the cold water. Perhaps the best option in the area.

Mizuki no Yu

Japanese Name: みずきの湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 尼崎市蓬川町295-3Access: 5min from Hanshin Amagasaki Center Pool MaeType: SupersentoWebpage: http://www.mizukinoyu.com/Price: ¥750Holiday: NoneHours: 9:00-26:00 (Weekends & Holidays: 9:00-8:45 the following day)
ReviewMizuki no Yu is a new supersento located in front of the Amagasaki Kyotei pool. It's a large bathing and entertainment complex with multiple restaurants. The baths are on the second floor. No natural onsen, but there's a rotating artificial onsen outdoors. Large selection of jet baths and saunas. It's pretty pricy however considering it doesn't have a natural hot spring. This is one of those supersento more geared towards people who want to spend the entire day here reading manga and lounging around. They even had a Famicom and a Super Famicom mini to play in the cafe.

Nagasu Onsen

Japanese Name: 長洲温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 〒660-0802 兵庫県尼崎市長洲中通3-5-1Access: 20 Min from Hanshin KuiseCategory: SentoWebpage: http://nagasuonsen.com/index.htmlPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: NoneHours: 13:00-23:00
Review:Amazing sento with a perfect selection of baths. Interesting design with the main bath positioned just after you enter so you have to walk around to get to the showers. The steam bath and medicated bath are both quite strong. A dry sauna is accessible from the changing room. I would love to have Nagasu as my local bath. Visit Date: August 2020

Nanamatsu Onsen

Japanese Name: 七松温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市七松町1-20-6Access: 5min walk from JR TachibanaType: SentoWebpage: http://www.nanamatsu-onsen.com/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: 3rd WednesdayHours: 6:00-25:00
ReviewI had a wonderful time at Nanamatsu. Four young boys, surprised by seeing a foreigner in the baths, flocked to me and began to ask a ton of questions. It might have been annoying to some people, but I enjoyed talking to the boys. I did wish their fathers, who must have been in the baths too, apologized for their behavior or thanked me for being kind to them. At least a simple greeting. Sadly, none of that was forthcoming.
About the baths, there are many various jets in the back. The main normal bath is actually more towards the changing room than the showers. The rotenburo is larger than average for sento of this style with a fair enough few of the sky and a good sized sitting area. Nanamatsu is a good choice for a summer bath while the sun is still out.
The two bathing areas change daily and have different saunas, dry and salt. Men have the dry sauna and women the salt on odd numbered days. Women have the dry sauna and men the salt sauna on even numbered days.

Nishioshima Onsen

Japanese Name: 西大島温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 尼崎市大庄北3-31-26Closest Station: Tachibana Station / 立花駅Category: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: Tuesday, SaturdayHours: 16:00-22:00Review:The reviews on Google call this outstanding for how kind and sweet the owners are. They are completely correct. I had a lovely chat with the grandmother who runs this little sento. She even offered me a drink, which I declined and bought a beer instead. This place cannot be making any profit. Better for me to spend some extra money there rather than get something from them for free. We talked about sentos closing down and how surprised she was to have a Japanese speaking foreigner visit her sento. The sento is somewhat attached to an old shopping street, opened in 1953 the sign said. This was the pre-supermarket Japan. Each store had a specialty, this one had chicken, the next one tofu, down the way they sold udon noodles. Everything from clothing and makeup to pickles and tea. According to the grandma most of the shops have closed. I did not ask but I can only assume that this has greatly affected the business in the sento. It is like the dead malls in the USA where the movie theater is the only thing still running. The lack of a good storefront facing the street also affects the customer numbers here. I have driven by this sento many times and seen a street sign and the smokestack, but never saw the entrance till I visited on this trip. Upon entering there is a somewhat large foyer that had seating and some drink vending. From there the genders were separated and it became a normal bandai style bathhouse. It is a unique design that I have not seen before. Most places like this have abandoned the bandai and made a front desk in the foyer. The changing room was large and clean. Fixtures were fine. A very old broken Sanyo brand clothes washer was placed next to the sinks. Changing room washers are rare but you will see them on occasion and typically broken. The ice cream freezer was mostly filled with a thick layer of frost and the drinks cooler looked like it was from the same era. The bathroom, behind a jammed up half broken door, was amazing. And so, so clean. It was the cleanest bathroom I have ever seen in a sento. The Japanese style toilet was new looking. If you want to try a washiki, here is a great place to do it! The baths were not so clean. This sento is run by two 80 year olds who might not have the energy to get it as clean as they used to. At least that is what I figured. The tiles, tubs and fixtures seemed to be in good condition. The sauna, jets and electric bath were broken. That is a common thing however for many sento recently. The shower and side jet showers did work which was nice. But some of the walls and tall places needed a good scrub. The water in the main bath was a little murky but smells fine. Inside the tub it needed a good scrub too. Typically when I go to places in conditions like this do not write reviews. Many people might be really turned off by baths like this. I understand. I would have felt the same way 20 years ago. However I have gotten crazier or less paranoid about these things and went in without a problem. The following day, as I write this, I am feeling fine. No weird skin growths or rashes. So Nishi-Oshima is an amazing place. The owners are lovely, the toilet is amazing but the baths are iffy at best. The thing is that the problems here are all fixable. Younger owners who could give everything a good scrub then a few minor repairs could revive this beautiful sento. The neighborhood nearby is gentrifying with new single family houses being built nearby. Highly recommended if you are a sento person like me. Otherwise I would recommend that a casual bather choose something different.
Visit Date: October 2019

Sanko-yu

Japanese Name: 三興湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市武庫の里2丁目30−18Access: Bus from Hankyu MukonosoType: SentoWebpage: http://www014.upp.so-net.ne.jp/sankouyu/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: Monday (Unless Monday is a holiday)Hours: 15:00-23:00 (Sundays Holidays 10:00-23:00)
ReviewI've talked about some other sento being jungle gyms or theme parks with baths, but this one really takes the cake.There is a large lukewarm pool outside with a slide for the kids. A water slide. For real. On top of that, the inside is decorated in a zoo animal motif. This is a super kid friendly sento. But, on the other hand, there are also unfriendly to children radon baths and saunas too. Overall, Sanko-yu is a fun sento and worth finding it under the Shinkansen tracks in Amagasaki. Many choices of baths and saunas and sitting places.
Unique and recommended. Perhaps my daughter's favorite sento.

Sakaemachi Onsen

Japanese Name: 栄町温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市杭瀬北新町3丁目9−5Closest Station: Kuise Station / 杭瀬駅Category: SentoWebpage: http://hyougo1010.blog.jp/archives/16244283.htmlPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: Second SaturdayHours: 15:00-23:30Review:Near Kuise Station. Down a old, quiet shopping arcade with more than a few closed storefronts. This is a large, airy sento with a pleasant outdoor bath. Better than one would expect. The small cold water bath was also good.Visit Date: July 2018

Tama no Yu

Japanese Name: 玉乃湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市玄番南之町4Access: 10min from Hanshin Amagasaki or 6min from Hanshin DeyashikiType: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: SundayHours: 15:00-24:00
ReviewGreat small sento. The main drain was placed between the shallow and deep baths in the middle. Something I haven't seen before. I enjoyed the design and family feel here. The TV in the steam bath, which was no longer working, looked like it might have been older than me! The warm salt water bath was unique. It felt very mild and didn’t sting as some salt water baths do.Interesting design for the baths, but not much besides that. Good for people who are into sento design. Not much is there for a typical bather, however.

Toyo Onsen

Japanese Name: 東洋温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市水明町1Type: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: WednesdayHours: 14:30-23:00
ReviewA well worn sento close to the Kyotei (boat racing) pool in Amagasaki. Nothing noteworthy in this sento and not much here besides the local color. Toyo isn't a place that I could recommend. There's a sauna, but it appears that it has been broken for sometime.

Wakara no Yu

Japanese Name: 和からの湯Previous Name: やまとの湯 尼崎店Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市東七松町2-4-32Access: 20 min walk from JR TachibanaType: SupersentoWebpage: https://yawarakanoyu.jp/Price: ¥600Holiday: NoneHours: 9:00-25:00 (Sat, Sun, Holiday: 6:00-25:00)
ReviewThis supersento has been reopened under new ownership. The only big difference is the hot spring well has been shut off. Below is my review while it was under the previous ownership.Yamato no Yu is a chain of supersentos throughout Japan. They have two near my house in Nishinomiya, and this is the better of the two. The design is typical of supersentos and offers all the amenities such as massage, a restaurant, rest areas, and so on.The indoor bathing area has a large normal bath and a good maze of jet baths. The two saunas are complemented by a charcoal filtered cold water bath. I really like the way the tile used on the inside floor feels on the feet.Outside there is a small, but cozy rotenburo area with a small selection of baths. The rock lined tub has many good places to sit. I enjoy cooling down in the 38 degree warm bath the best.Many of the baths are filled with natural mineral water from a 1004 meter deep well. I was told that there is some fear of pollution by arsenic and other heavy metals in the groundwater here from the factory that was previously built on this location. This must be the reason behind the large poster in the changing room documenting the testing and cleanliness of the water and the boasting of how deep the well is.This Yamato no Yu is not one of my favorite springs, but it is still good. It does get you hot through and through. Although rather busy, I can earnestly recommend this supersento for a basic, yet relaxing, bathing experience. The location is hard to get to by car, thanks to some one-way roads and hard to make turns.
Update 2019: I have not been since they renamed to Wakara no Yu after the Yamato no Yu chain closed down. The natural hot spring has been converted to a carbonated bath.Note: Photo is from the previous name, Yamato no Yu

Yu~moa Land Fukuei

Japanese Name: ゆ〜もあらんど福栄Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 尼崎市杭瀬南新町1丁目2-1Type: SentoHomepage: http://sentofukuei.web.fc2.com/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: NoneHours: 6:30-25:00
ReviewRight in front of Kuise station is this nearly perfect sento. This is just a straight sento, but it's bright, clean, great hot water, has a large selection of baths, a rotenburo, is open all night, and is cheaper than it really should be. One of the best classic sento in Kansai.Update, January 2020Quality sento with some bright happy tiles inside and a decent outdoor area with a nice rock lined tub. Fukuei is one of those great examples of a sento that gets everything right, including the big table and tatami in the sitting area in the front. I took my daughter (9yo) with her school friend here and they had a great time. Especially when I take other peoples’ kids out to a sento I bear some responsibility for choosing a safe and healthy place. Sometimes that can be difficult but I knew from experience that Fukuei would be good for them. Baths are a bit hotter than average, but besides that no problems. Two other good things is that you can see this sento from the main exit of Kuise station and there are two 100 Yen Shops in the same area in case you forget a towel or something.
Visit Date: January 2020

Yakumo Onsen

Japanese Name: 八雲温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市西難波町2丁目4−21Closest Station: Tachibana Station / 立花駅Category: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: ThursdayHours: 14:00-24:30Review:One of the few remaining sento in Amagasaki I had not been to yet! What a pleasant surprise. Great cold bath, steam sauna, outdoor bath with a TV! Fake plants around the balcony type second floor coldbath--I love it. I'll be heading back here again.Visit Date: June 2019

Yu no Karo

Japanese Name: 湯の華廊Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市塚口本町4丁目8-12Access: Free bus from Hankyu Tsukaguchi or 5 min walk from Hankyu InanoType: SupersentoWebpage: http://www.tsukashin.com/yunokarou/Price: ¥900Holiday: NoneHours: 10:00-24:00 (Weekends & Holidays: 10:00-25:00)
ReviewA beautiful example of what a supersento should be. I recommend Yu no Karo for a first supersento experience. The interior bating area is standard, if not a bit dark. Outside, the centerpiece is a large shallow rock lined hot spring bath. The hot, opaque, yellowish-brown spring water leaves a mineral buildup along the tubs and walkways. The spring feels like very diluted clay and does a great job relaxing your mind and body. The water here is similar to Amayu House, Kua Mukogawa, and Arima Onsen. Yu no Karo is also a good example of what a high osmotic pressure spring looks like. Besides the hot spring filled baths, the rest of the baths are filled with soft water from a well on site. The showers also use this soft water.I come to Yu no Karo for their extra hot bath. Always about 46 degrees, extra hot baths are the best for my often aching back.On the downside, Yu no Karo is often busy. Recently it's been showing it's age and the wear and tear that comes with heavy use. It’s still a great bath and right next to a wonderful shopping center with one of Kansai's largest 100 Yen Shops. Yu no Karo has a unique and confusing locker room system. After buying a ticket from the vending machine and present it to the front staff you will get a credit card sized piece of plastic with a number on it. In the locker room you can insert that card into any available locker.
Update 2018: Has been remodeled. Have not been back to see it yet.
Hot Spring DataWell Name: Tsukashin Onsen Senichi no Yu つかしん温泉 千一の湯Type: Chloride spring - 塩化物泉pH: 6.5Type: Neutral - 中性Well Temperature: 47.7Type: Extra hot spring - 高温泉Osmotic Pressure: High - 高張性

Yu-topia Kotoura

Japanese Name: ゆーとぴあ琴浦Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市琴浦町98-2Access: 10 min walk from Hanshin Center Pool MaeType: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: TuesdayHours: 8:30-23:00
ReviewYu-topia. Do you get it? HA! So very funny. HA! I love pun sento names.I really liked this uniquely designed sento. From the outside with it's stainless steel facade, to the bathhouse which has the feel of the French restaurant in Disneyland. I thought that it would make a good restaurant if the owner ever gave up on having a bathhouse.There were two different herb baths here which is somewhat unusual as most sento only have one. I also liked the small, but manageable and cozy rotenburo area. The waterfall bath combined with some fresh air makes this an ideal place for an afternoon bath when the sun is still out.

*Closed* Amayu House

Japanese Name: あま湯 ハウスPrefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 尼崎市長洲西通1丁目10番48Type: Capsule Hotel
Review*Closed* A pure bathing paradise. Amayu House has it all from a fantastic hot spring to ample beer vending machines. I come here to really, 100% remove myself from whatever worries or stresses I have stuck in my head. Outside, the brown, opaque hot spring fills a large rocky bath. Inside, the normal baths of difference sizes and depths provide many great places in the high roofed, Romanesque room. Upstairs, there are chairs with TVs for sleeping, a game room, restaurants, and, for an additional fee, capsule rooms. A little more on the water. The spring here is hot at 53.8c. Thankfully it's cooled down before you get in. The water is a thick brown color. You'll not be able to see the bottom of the pools so make sure you be careful entering and exiting the baths. Amayu likes to emphasize that the water is very similar to that of Arima Onsen, and they have a valid point. The baths really do have a rejuvenating feel to them and all the minerals in the water must be good for your skin. At least it is for mine. When you enter you pay for a single day pass, an overnight pass, or an overnight pass with a capsule room. Once inside you'll be directed to the baths. Upon entry the staff will offer you a choice of clothing. This is what you'll lounge around in until you leave. There are two options: a yukata or a shirt and shorts set called aloha. After receiving your clothes you can go into the locker room, change, take a bath and put on your yukata or aloha and lounge around the building. Unlike most capsule hotels, Amayu is much more family friendly. All the common areas besides the baths and sleeping rooms are mixed gender. You'll often see many families enjoying a day at the baths. Highly recommended if you want to splurge on day of relaxing or just looking for a cheap place to crash for the night. Discount are available from their website, or by navigating to Amayu's keitai webpage and showing your phone to the staff at the front. There are also many special event days that happen every month or week for example every Monday is woman's day and Friday is men's day. On those days entrance is only ¥1,050. There are free busses departing from Hankyu Tsukaguchi (阪急 塚口) and Hanshin Amagasaki or Kuise stations (阪神 尼崎・杭瀬). See their website for a time table.
Hot Spring DataWell Name: Senryu no Yu - 千竜の湯Type: Chloride spring - 塩化物泉Well Temperature: 53.8

*Closed* Bunka Onsen

Japanese Name: 文化温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市東園田町5丁目26−1Type: Sento
Review*Closed* Bunka Onsen (literally culture hot spring?) has a huge cavernous entrance with a huge cavernous changing room and an equally huge cavernous bathing area. Another review of this bath in Japanese said it was basic, very basic. It’s not a bad thing, but there is not much in terms of decoration here. Hot water at the taps was super hot while the tubs not so hot. Water had a mixture of calcium, sodium, aluminum and iron called “Mineral Onsen” added to it according to the sign. This gave the water a hot spring like feel. It’s not just normal city stuff in the tubs. The man working the bandai was half asleep when I came in.

*Closed* Horai-yu (Deyashiki Area)

Japanese Name: 宝来湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市宮内町1-3Type: SentoReview*Closed* Down and old and tired shotengai across the street from Hanshin Deyashiki station in the heart of downtown Amagasaki is this rather large sento. It is not the cleanest sento. It does not have the most baths, and some of those baths it did have were broken. What it had was a great atmosphere thanks to the staff.
There were only 3 men with me in the baths making the sento seem even larger. The indoor area is a simple white tile, but the baths were big and comfortable. In the back corner there is a large “swimming bath” that had a weak current for swimming against. I doubt that it was strong enough to do that, but maybe years ago it was possible. Outside were two simple baths. Only one of them had a view out to the sky.
The changing room was welcoming and well maintained, but not much to talk about.
I really liked the woman working the bandai however. She was chatting with two jr. high aged girls, one standing on either side of her. Their conversation gave the room a fun relaxed feel.
I am not going to rush back here again. The baths were fine, nothing that great really. It was the experience of going that was fun. Exploring a new place and being happy with what came of it. I was lucky to have a little chat with the lady working there and really enjoyed the night. Part of the fun of this hobby.
November 2019 Update: This sento is long closed but I could not find any mention of it online to reconfirm this review. I was beginning to think it was a dream or I was thinking this was a different place but I found this review on the great Michiken Land site.

*CLOSED* Kiyomi Onsen

Japanese Name: 清美温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市塚口本町2丁目2−23Type: Sento
Review*CLOSED* Little sento a down a small side street from the station. It’s a basic no frills sento but enjoyable and clean enough. There are two different electric baths. One called "soft" is the normal constant buzz, while the other called "massage" puts out strong shots of electricity into the water. The back wall has a nature scene with a rock waterfall filling the herb bath. Some nice tile work on the floor and a mosaic of koi in the shallow bath were added touches. I really enjoyed the lack of a TV in the changing room. In its place, they had talk radio on.

*CLOSED* Motohama

Japanese Name: 元浜Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市元浜町2丁目62番地Type: Sento (with Hot Spring)

Review*CLOSED* There is a jungle gym in the bath on the 3rd floor of this sento. Well, it is the sento world's version of a jungle gym. Monkey bars, big baths on multiple floors and strong jets turn this three story sento into a liquid playground.
Motohama is a Yuasobihiroba group sento which are always great. I always enjoy coming here. They always have a unique layout and great selection of baths. It is not too far from the station either. The staff, I must say, are extremely friendly too. Last time I was there I had enjoyable chat with the woman running the counter.
Also they have kept their price at the original level despite the rise to ¥410 in Hyogo a few years back. ¥380 is an absolute deal for the selection of baths and a real hot spring.
The hot spring is used in the rotenburo only. It's a simple spring with a neutral pH. Not much to brag about, but still comfortable.Make sure to check out the website for pictures of all the crazy baths, but if you do, don't do it at work. There are a few innocuous picks of some 80‘s era women enjoying the baths.
November 2019 Update: I added a photo of the outdoor hot spring fountain. Of all the sento that I have seen closed over the years this is the sento I wish this bath was still open.

*Closed* Shiroyama Onsen

Japanese Name: 白山温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 尼崎市杭瀬本町1丁目4-10
Type: SentoPrice: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: WednesdayHours: 15:00-23:00Review*Closed* It's a little dark on the outside (inside too), but don't let that scare you--this sento is amazing! Great soft water, a rocking radon sauna, and a really friendly atmosphere. The park in front looks really fun for kids too.

*Closed* Sumiyoshi Onsen

Japanese Name: 住吉温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: AmagasakiAddress: 兵庫県尼崎市杭瀬本町2-6-32Category: SentoHyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Review:Just a lovely sento on Route 2 near Kuise. Sad to see it go.Visit Date: September 2016