Konohana Ward - 此花区

Baika Onsen

Japanese Name: 梅香温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Konohana WardAddress: 大阪府大阪市此花区梅香3丁目30−7Closest Station: Chidori Station / 千鳥駅Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: 1st & 3rd WednesdayHours: 14:00-25:00
Review:A well used local sento that could use a bit of refurbishment.
Visit Date: December 2016

Daifuku-yu

Japanese Name: 大福湯Prefecture: OsakaCity: Konohana WardAddress: 大阪市此花区西九条1-14-8Closest Station: Nishikujo Station / 西九条駅Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: WednesdayHours: 14:30-23:30
Review:Daifuku-yu was a pleasant surprise. So close to a station that I travel by on my way in and out of Osaka, yet I never thanked to look for a sento there. The building has a bright cheerful appearance with an interior to match. This sento is pristinely clean from the tubs to the water itself. Just normal city water here, but it's cleaned and treated in a way to make it just as pure as possible. There's a basic, yet adequate selection of baths to try out. Great place for a first timer. It's also within easy striking distance from Universal Studios Japan and the many hotels around there. Updated review November 2019:Clean, open and sterile bath. Sadly the steam sauna is broken. Good location and extra hot baths make this a decent place to know about but it is not unique enough to warrant going out of your way to visit. Closest sento for those leaving USJ.Visit Date: November 2019

Chidori Onsen (Jitensha-yu)

Japanese Name: 千鳥温泉(自転車湯)Prefecture: OsakaCity: Konohana WardAddress: 大阪府大阪市此花区梅香2丁目12−20Closest Station: Chidori Station / 千鳥駅Category: SentoWebpage: https://jitenshayu.jp/Price: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: TuesdayHours: 14:30-23:00
Review:Run by a sento enthusiast couple that make this simple sento into a prime example of what a good sento can be. Very foreigner friendly. Tattoo friendly also. A great place for a first time sento experience. Highly recommended!
Visit Date: January 2019

Koshin-yu

Japanese Name: 庚申湯Prefecture: OsakaCity: Konohana WardAddress: 大阪府大阪市此花区伝法5丁目3 庚申湯Closest Station: Denpo Station / 伝法駅Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: UnknownHours: 15:30-23:30
Review:Very well used, but equally well maintained. Bath layout and selection is well thought. The cold water bath might be a bit small in summer. Water feels outstanding for just a normal sento. One review mentioned that the water here was heated using wood which some people believe make the heat more gentle. I was not able to check the heating method here and the other thing is up to your opinion. Either way, it feels great here. There are some interesting tiles especially the forest ones around the cold water bath, but the only negative I can say about this bath is that it is not very aesthetically appealing. Not so beautiful, but other than that Koshin-Yu is a quality sento.
Visit Date: July 2019

Ikkyu

Japanese Name: 一休Prefecture: OsakaCity: Konohana WardAddress: 大阪府大阪市此花区酉島5-9-31Closest Station: Ajikawaguchi Station / 安治川口駅Category: Supersento w/ natural hot springWebpage: http://www.onsen19.com/Price: ?Holiday: Third ThursdayHours: 10:00-26:00
Review:Ikkyu is a supersento a stones throw (or free shuttle bus) from Universal Studios Japan in Osaka’s port area. Thanks to the tourists from USJ and that it’s the only supersento in the area Ikkyu is very crowded. Uncommon for supersento there were locals that knew the staff and were chatting with them friendly as if it were a downtown sento. My wife and I also noticed many tourists from all over Asia in the baths most likely resting off a long day at the theme park. Ikkyu is very well designed and appointed supersento filled, almost exclusively, with a clear and odorless hot spring water that was slippery to the touch. The onsen here is a real gem if you are looking for the smooth and slippery feeling water. Each of the baths was lined with a light brown mineral buildup from the that seemed to be easily chipped off. There were also a few sings explaining that yu no hana (deposits) might be floating in the water. All of these are signs of a good spring for me. The baths were either concrete or wood lined, no bright tile here. The lack of bright lights and tiles helped relax and subdue crowded, noisy bathing areas. I enjoyed the selection of hot (43), normal (41) and warm (38) baths, although I wished the hotter one was a bit hotter. Ikkyu is a very well designed supersento with great water near a major tourist attraction so I cannot complain that it is crowded, but it is something to be aware of. The very tight entrance and sitting area in the front made getting in and out of the bath somewhat stressful. I also found the changing room to be very small and to be very hot. Some of the outdoor baths had a strong chlorine smell, but that was reassuring that they are clean and for me a good thing as the smell reminds me of hotel pools back in the USA. These few complaints are minor compared to rest of the Ikkyu experience however.Visit Date: February 2013 *Hot Spring Data*Spring Type: Simple spring - 単純温泉Well Temperature: 50.3°CTemperature Type: Extra hot spring - 高温泉pH: 8.06pH Type: Weak alkaline - 弱アルカリ性Osmotic Pressure: Low - 低張性Well Name: Gensen Narumi no Yu - 慶泉成美の湯

*Closed* Yagi Onsen

Japanese Name: 八木温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Konohana WardAddress: 大阪府大阪市此花区伝法2-1-58Closest Station: Chidori Station / 千鳥駅Category: Sento
Review:A lovely sento that had a great steam bath and tile work. Sadly now closed. *sad*
Visit Date: January 2019