Himeji City - 姫路市

Akane no Yu - Himeji Minami

Japanese Name: あかねの湯 姫路南店Prefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 672-8035 兵庫県姫路市飾磨区中島2721Access: 15 minutes from Sanyo Mega Station / 山陽 妻鹿駅Category: SupersentoWebpage: http://bemss.jp/akane/cont101.php?kmws=isf4ppptomt4au0aoenv5t0lg6Price: ¥670 (Weekend & Holiday: ¥770)Holiday: NoneHours: 9:00-24:00
Review: With this I have visited all three Akane no Yu outlets in western Hyogo. This is the best and biggest of the 3. Decent garden, steam sauna and a super strong jet! So many shower stalls. Some of the ad-hoc wiring used for the lighting at the washing stations seems not up to code. Outside is a beautiful garden with a wide selection of baths and TVs to enjoy. Different treatments are placed in the bathwater so you might be lucky to find the water you want with the right channel. Check out the strange English next to the kakari basin. I did inform the staff that the English was meaningless so maybe it has been changed. Haha! Good supersento in an area with no other options. Visit Date: May 2021
They have a "English Garden" out front

Hana no Yu - Himeji

Japanese Name: 花の湯 姫路店Prefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 672-8057 兵庫県姫路市飾磨区恵美酒270Access: 15 minutes from Sanyo Shikama Station / 山陽 飾磨駅Category: SupersentoWebpage: https://www.hananoyu-himeji.com/Price: ¥650Holiday: NoneHours: 9:00-23:30
Review: Sometimes there are supersento that are connected to pachinko. Some of these places have a supersento that is a destination in its own right, but this is more like a pachinko that has a supersento. While there is a full range of baths and a popular sauna there is nothing particularly special here for anyone to go out of their way to visit. That said, there are a few great jets here, including some high and hard ones that you can get under your shoulder blades. This is also a place you can learn a lot from the warning signs. Interestingly, there are more than a few signs saying that if you do not follow the rules, you will get banned. One of the rules then was not bringing booze into the baths… 絶対! Also, I have to love this place because the very friendly lady working the font asked me if I had any tattoos. Sorry, this one is off limits to my tattooed readers, but you are not really missing anything anyhow. It is fine and a fun place to watch Oyaji in their natural habitat but that is about it. Odd shoe boxes where you need to choose your own 4 number code. I used 0420 but 6969 or 1337 would be equally suitable. Visit Date: July 2021

Himeji City Kyūyō Center Kodera-sō

Japanese Name: 姫路市休養センター 香寺荘Prefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 679-2165 兵庫県姫路市香寺町恒屋1470Access: CarCategory: Hot Spring Hotel w/ day useWebpage: http://koderaso.net/Price: ¥700Holiday: NoneHours: 9:00-21:00
Review: This one is just off the highway but far away from the center of Himeji city proper. A, seemingly, city run operation with more than a few quirks to it. But first the baths. The natural spring here is noticeable however it is a cold well that is heated up and does not have the same reporting responsibilities as a typical hot spring. (Note: the website calls it “ナトリウム炭酸水素塩泉” which I translate to a bicarbonate spring on this site.) You should not take this as a negative, however as the spring felt great in the shallow main bath. Outdoors the water is carbonated making it a bit cooler than the main indoor baths. That combined with the TV it makes it easy to soak there for a long time. One of the best baths I have been to. So now the quirks… there are some strangely situated and weak jets in the main shallow bath which are turned on by the most glorious industrial button that demands to be pressed. If it is not busy and the bath is still when you are there you can enjoy watching the bubbles from the jets spread into the main bath which makes bathing here a physics experiment. There is also oddly grandiose kakari basin with the half-broken jet shower behind it. Then they have a selection of different body soap, shampoo, and conditioner to use. My daughter very much enjoyed that, some of the shower heads have LED lights that activate when water flows through the handle spinning a small dynamo. I saw a guy with full tattoos here so it should be OK. You cannot miss all the aquariums with turtles and fish in the lobby. Visit Date: May 2021 *Hot Spring Data*Spring Type: Bicarbonate spring - 炭酸水素塩泉Temperature Type: Cold spring - 冷鉱泉

Mori no Yu

Japanese Name: 森の湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 兵庫県姫路市南駅前町25Type: SentoWebpage: http://www.morinoyu.com/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: The 1st, 3rd, and 5th Wednesdays of the monthHours: 13:00-24:00
ReviewA seemingly popular local sento a stone’s through from JR Himeji station, Mori-no-Yu left me happy and refreshed. Not too large but quite well built, the baths all were lined with the same blue, 500 yen coin sized tiles. This very health themed sento had many posters showing bathing courses, bath tub exercises, and notices about health related things posted on the walls. I loved the extra hot 43.5 degree bath that complemented wide and shallow cold water bath. They also had a knee height bath that was filled with smooth white stones for massaging the bottom of your feet. Amazingly refreshing, but quite painful. I know a good sento if I leave it feeling taller, my back straighter, and ready for the next week of work, and that’s how I felt leaving Mori-no-Yu.
Update June 2020A bit has changed since I first came here about 10 years ago, but the bath here is still awesome. This time I was in the opposite side, I think. Hot, normal, warm (carbonated) and a cold bath made this great for post hike refreshment as was the stone filled foot massage bath. Great place although they will assume that you are a foreign tourist like everything in Himeji recently.

Seppiko Onsen

Japanese Name: 雪彦温泉Prefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 兵庫県姫路市夢前町山之内掛ノ谷甲120Closest Station: Category: Hot Spring FacilityWebpage: http://www.e-yamasa.com/seppiko/Price: ¥800Holiday: 30 Dec ~ 1 JanHours: 10:00-19:00
Review:I had high hopes for this bath given the name and difficult to reach location--if headed by public transport. After hiking up Mt Seppiko, I walked the entire distance from the mountain all the way through a few little villages to the hot spring. Located in a rural cottage looking building with a small restaurant the baths were spartan on the interior. The outdoor section was outstanding however and great for some nakked post hike sunbathing. Sadly there is no cold bath here so placed one of the bathing chairs for the elderly under the standing shower and sat there with the cold water spraying down on me. The spring quality was noticeable and quite nice but I wish it was used better or a straight from the well cool bath was available.Visit Date: August 2018 *Hot Spring Data*Spring Type: Simple alkaline spring - アルカリ性単純温泉Well Temperature: 25.5°CTemperature Type: Warm spring - 低温泉pH: 9.91pH Type: Alkaline - アルカリ性Osmotic Pressure: Low - 低張性

Shintsuru-yu

Japanese Name: 新鶴湯Prefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 671-1121 兵庫県姫路市広畑区東新町2丁目18Access: 5 minutes from Sanyo Yumesakigawa Station / 山陽 夢前川駅Category: SentoWebpage: https://hyogo1010.com/sento_list/himeji-shintsuruyu/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: SundayHours: 15:00-22:00
Review: Small older sento in the western reaches of the city only a few minutes from Yumesakigawa Station. The sento is small but it has a full range of baths including bubble, jet and electric. The main deep bath was a bit cooler than expected as were the showers on the day of my visit. The steam sauna in the back was surprisingly strong and large when compared to the overall size of this sento. One of the signs on the glass sauna door had "please don't shave in the sauna” written on the back so only the people in the sauna could read it. Interesting. You can learn a lot about a place when you see what they need to warn people about. They also asked bathers not to bring any bath water into the steam sauna. While not bring water into the sauna a common rule for dry saunas, people typically rinse off the benches in a steam sauna with some bath water. So be aware that some places have different rules about this. The small cold-water bath was pleasant and refilled quickly giving a good overflow effect when you get in. Tile work here was normal and while a bit manky here or there it was over all quite clean. This used to be a bandai style sento which was converted into a front style it appears. Nice place and a great option in the area. There was one grandpa in the baths with me who had a tough time while I was there. First while he wa 6s soaping up the shower head popped off in his hand with the water from the pipe spraying right into his face. Later in the changing room he lamented to me that he forgot a towel to dry off with. I hope he did not catch a cold on the way home! Visit Date: May 2021

Yutarin

Japanese Name: ゆたりんPrefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 679-4222 兵庫県姫路市林田町口佐見386Access: 40min by bus from Himeji Station or by carCategory: Hot Spring FacilityWebpage: http://yutarin.net/Price: ¥650Holiday: ThursdayHours: 10:00-21:30
Review: City run municipal natural hot spring facility well outside of Himeji city proper. Two sides have different designs: one is rocky, the other more modern. Both have the same selections of baths. Dry sauna and cold water were above average. Spring water in all the other baths was noticeable but nothing amazing. Outside there is a large, heated bath and a straight spring water one that could fit about one person. The straight spring water bath was only slightly cooler than the other baths. Overall, Yutarin is worth a visit if you are in the area but not worth a trip from Osaka just to visit this place. There is also a local farmers market here. Visit Date: April 2021 *Hot Spring Data*Spring Type: Chloride spring - 塩化物泉Well Temperature: 26.7°CTemperature Type: Warm spring - 低温泉pH: 8.38pH Type: Weak alkaline - 弱アルカリ性Osmotic Pressure: Low - 低張性

Yuttari House

Japanese Name: 湯ったりハウスPrefecture: HyogoCity: HimejiAddress: 670-0811 兵庫県姫路市野里203Access: 15 minutes from JR West Kyoguchi Station / JR西日本 京口駅Category: SentoWebpage: http://yuttarihouse.co/Price: Hyogo Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: NoneHours: 6:00-25:00
Review: Amazing foot massage bath with different sized stones smooth stones submerged in the water. This seems to be a western Hyogo thing. There were even a few quite large rocks in the water there. Different from the other examples I have experienced. There were two of these baths. One had a jet in it while the second one had electric panels at calve and ankles height. Quite the experience. Some of the showers have been re-piped so there is some exposed piping. Also a few broken lights and the steam bath is out of commission. The dry (extra fee) appears to be popular. Outside is a great cold bath with a spout made for filling buckets for dumping on head. An outdoor TV too. Friendly staff. Strange location way in the middle of nowhere, perhaps best sento in Himeji. Visit Date: July 2021