Ikuno Ward - 生野区

Fukutoku Onsen

Japanese Name: 福徳温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Ikuno WardAddress: 〒544-0015 大阪府大阪市生野区巽南2丁目8−2Closest Station: Osaka Metro Minami-Tatsumi station - 10min walk / 大阪地下鉄 南巽駅Category: SentoWebpage: https://e-sento.com/福徳温泉/Price: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: MondayHours: 14:00-24:00
Review:Fresh exterior with a huge stone dinosaur statue out front. I knew this would be a great sento from the outside. Inside the owner was very inviting and talkative. He was proud of what he had on offer and I would not blame him in the slightest. First off the water here has all gone through a softener and is pristine. Second, this has to be one of the finest examples of what a full-feature sento can be. All the baths one would want or expect are here. For me the most important are a steam sauna and cold-water bath. This place does both with near perfection. The cold-water bath is on the second floor with a commanding view. There is an openable window to let some fresh air in. Lastly, and this is a small thing that I have not mentioned before, but the basin for getting water to rinse yourself off with is warmer than the bath itself. So, when you get out of the sauna, rinsing off the sweat (as any reader of this site should be doing) before getting the bath is not as shocking. However, once you get in the bath you can enjoy the bone-chilling temperature safely. This is also safer if you enjoy dumping buckets of water over your head like I do as it is not too cold to cause shock. Next, the steam sauna. It is hot and there is a small pouch of herbs to make the air pleasant. One more that I notice but rarely mention here, there is a shower head on a hose in the steam sauna for spraying off the bench before and after you sit. Overall, this is an outstanding sento that would place on top 10 lists of Osaka sento. Well worth a visit!
Visit Date: May 2021

Ikuno Onsen

Japanese Name: 生野温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Ikuno WardAddress: 大阪府大阪市生野区勝山南1丁目21−8Closest Station: Momodani Station / 桃谷駅Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: UnknownHours: 14:00-24:00
Review:This bath is wide, too wide. The size of an urban Japanese supermarket even.
We all have our own styles for taking the bath we all get to play those roles out in the bath. Having a lot of space here it felt like people had more freedom to act as they wanted. In more normal sized sento that are smaller, people need to confine their activities to the size of the bath. However, here people fill the space accordingly. This one guy got out of the sauna and and laid, facedown in the cold-water, got out, did a round on the foot massager things then began doing yoga stretches in the electric bath. Was he a regular? Was he one of these new “sauna” guys? Who knows.
There is a cool street lamp style main light over the central bathing area. The cold water bath is huge. It is a bit moldy here and there. Over all a weird and good sento.
Visit Date: January 2020

Kaminaka-yu

Japanese Name: 神中湯Prefecture: OsakaCity: Ikuno WardAddress: 〒544-0034 大阪府大阪市生野区桃谷4丁目2−18Access: 10 Min from Kintetsu or JR Tsuruhashi / 近鉄・JR 鶴橋Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: The 9th, 19th and 29th of the monthHours: 13:30-25:00
Review:Very large sento with a spacious entry, changing and main bathing area. This is a 3-level design where you enter on the middle then there is a below ground and above ground area in the back of the building. Great radon steam bath here, that is always a plus. Interesting stuff beings with the below ground area that has a walking bath. This one seems to have been broken for some time so there is no stream of water to walk against. Instead the owners have cemented rocks into place on the floor making it a foot massage bath. Very refreshing and recommended if you have not yet tried one. The above ground area has a shower, dry sauna and a few specially located washing areas. Outside there is a medicated bath and a cold-water bath. Nothing is better than an outdoor cold-water bath in the summer. Also, as this is in the Korean area of Osaka, make sure to look out for some signage in Hangul! Always a fun thing to spot. All-in-all a solid local sento. Visit Date: August 2020

Nishiki-yu

Japanese Name: 錦湯Prefecture: OsakaCity: Osaka - IkenoAddress: 大阪府大阪市池野区新今里4-10-5Access: Imazato Station / 今里駅Type: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: SaturdayHours: 14:00-26:00
ReviewNice sento in the Korean area of eastern Osaka city. Interesting because all the signs in the bathhouse are written in Japanese and Korean.

Momodani Onsen

Japanese Name: 桃谷温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Ikuno WardAddress: 〒544-0033 大阪府大阪市生野区勝山北1丁目1−8Access: Momodani Station / 桃谷駅Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: MondayHours: 15:00-25:00
Review:A short walk from the station right off the shopping street. This is a very spartan sento. Not much in terms of design but it is still comfortable and well designed. Decent steam sauna. The cold water bath is tap temperature or mildly chilled. Interesting that the waterfall bath is in the cold bath--somewhat rare. Great option in the area.
Visit Date: June 2020

Minami Ikuno Onsen

Japanese Name: 南生野温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Ikuno WardAddress: 544-0024 大阪府大阪市生野区生野西4丁目715Access: 10 minutes from JR West Teramotocho Station / JR西日本 寺本町駅Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: WednesdayHours: 14:00-24:00
Review: This sento has a dogleg to the right which gives the whole place an open feel. Strong steam sauna right next to the mildly chilled cold water--perfect. Check out the glass etching above the main entrance and the entrance to the baths. The "Finland" sauna seemed quite popular, but I skipped it. A small bath was treated with bath salts but also has Ena (恵那) radon advertised. Ena is a beautiful town in Eastern Gifu prefecture that I recommend visiting if you have the chance and never knew there was bath salts made there until I visited this sento. The normal jet baths here were unusually strong and hitting me in the right spot below the shoulders, a happy discovery. Other than that, there is some good tile here and there plus some great glass etching above the main entrance and the entrance to the baths on the men's and women's sides. Bike parking is available in the driveway of the house in front of the sento. Look for the signs. Visit Date: June 2021

Shin-Akebono Onsen

Japanese Name: 新曙温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Ikuno WardAddress: 544-0033 大阪府大阪市生野区勝山北4丁目416Access: JR West Momotani 15min / JR西日本 桃谷駅Category: SentoPrice: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: 1st & 3rd WednesdayHours: 14:00-24:00
Review: This is a quirky sento--so many here that I think it would make a great place to take a first timer. The neighborhood also has that great old-school Osaka feel that is untouched by the tourist trade. Tiles sometimes get covered up layers of sediment from a natural hot spring or bath additives. That sediment will chip off and expose the fresh tile underneath. On the other hand, sometimes the tiles themselves lose the glazing that is protecting them from erosion and the material underneath begins to show through. Either way the layers of colors makes a topography of imaginary mountains and hills I enjoy to ponder while in the tubs. Here you can see both. The outdoor bath is treated with kanpō 漢方 herbal medicine. Typically, kanpō baths have a herbal smell to them and a brownish tea colored tint. This bath had clear water and smelt more like a disinfectant--as with most outdoor baths--than anything else. Then I felt it, there was a clear effect on my skin from whatever they are treating the bath with. The sediment on the walls of the tub only helped to confirm that--wonderful additive. The radon steam bath here also is unique. Sadly, it was not too hot, but it did have a nozzle for the radon gas. This was nothing too unique as I have seen them before however this was the first place where I could feel something blowing from the nozzle. To be honest, I think most of those radon baths are all just in name only. I would love to bring a Geiger counter into the sento with me to see if they are providing any radon. This place, at least, you can feel something coming out of the nozzle. There is the second floor with a dry sauna (extra fee) and cold-water bath. Inside the cold-water bath is a cold waterfall jet which felt amazing. I would love this on a hot summer's day. However, it splashes everywhere, and the bath could fit maybe 2~3 people, so I would be careful about using this one if it was busy. The tub with the shallow jet and electronic baths is also treated. Here it was lavender, but the color was pink. Lastly, the kanji for “akebono” on the sign had furigana above it. I did not know that kanji and I guess other customers could not also. Friendly owners, highly recommended. Visit Date: February 2021

Shusse-yu

Japanese Name: 出世湯Prefecture: OsakaCity: Ikuno WardAddress: 大阪市生野区生野西1-2-2Closest Station: Teradacho Station / 寺田町駅Category: SentoWebpage: http://osaka268.com/osakasentou/出世湯(生野区)/Price: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: NoneHours: 14:00-24:30
Review:Great sento that really has that Osaka feel. Round baths inside and a comfortable outdoor bath.Visit Date: May 2018

Tenryu-yu

Japanese Name: 天竜湯Prefecture: OsakaCity: Osaka-IkunoAddress: 大阪府大阪市生野区生野西4-12-29Access: Teradacho Station / 寺田町駅Type: SentoWebpage: 大阪府公衆浴場組合 - Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association Price: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: NAHours: 14:00-24:30 (Sunday 9:00~24:30)
ReviewTenryu-yu is a large clean sento in a friendly neighborhood. The mist sauna and outdoor herbal bath were of note. The okonomiyaki place on the corner by the entrance is pretty good eating too.

*Closed* Gengabashi Onsen

Japanese Name: 源ケ橋温泉Prefecture: OsakaCity: Osaka - IkunoAddress: 大阪市生野区林寺1-5-33Access: Teradacho Station / 寺田町駅Type: SentoWebpage: 大阪府公衆浴場組合 - Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association , Wikipedia [Japanese]Price: Osaka Prefecture Public Bathhouse Association price or cheaper (sauna, if available, may be extra)Holiday: MondayHours: 15:00-25:00
ReviewHistorical sento that is listed as a tangible cultural asset by the Japanese government. You can feel the history in this place. If you go to one sento in your life, Gengabashi would be a great option. Check out the Statue of Liberty on the roof. That's because "New York" sounds like "Nyuyoku" or in kanji "入浴" meaning "to take a bath."
Update Winter 2019: Temporarily closed for an extended period of time. So sad. I hope it opens again soon. Check the Osaka Sento Association webpage above for more current information.
Update Summer 2021: As of 2020 the sento was officially closed. Bummer.Here is an Asahi Shimbun article about the closure and use as an online live event space along with interior photos.
[Japanese, Paywalled] https://www.asahi.com/articles/ASP1L72T5NDRPTIL00Q.html